Women’s Initiative

Watch the Women’s Initiative Seminar

Our mission is to develop an initiative tailored to help guide members through the challenges faced by women in science. The program’s intent is to promote professional advancement through raising awareness of unconscious bias, providing strategies members can implement to increase professional confidence, be empowered to overcome challenges, and be guided towards creating equality in the field of cardiovascular science. The program is open to all, including ECI, MCI, men and gender diverse individuals.

Melissa Brodrick, M.Ed.

                                 Director and Ombuds, Harvard Ombuds Office, Harvard University

Effective Negotiation Skills for the Workplace

Women’s Initiative Events at ISHR-NAS Madison 2023

The Women’s Initiative hosted fun and interactive events at the ISHR-NAS meeting in Madison in June 2023. We held a lively, packed breakfast event with a panel discussion on the importance of self-advocacy, mentorship and sponsorship at all career levels. Issues raised included a current void of coaching for early career investigators and how to be a good mentor, run a lab and negotiate for optimal professional opportunities.

The Madison meeting saw the launch of the ISHR mentorship scheme, with esteemed volunteer mid- career and established scientists making themselves available to trainees for career questions, concerns and advice. The full list of mentors can be found below.

The meeting closed with a stunning sunset boat and dinner cruise on beautiful lake Mendota. Please join us for more networking, advocacy, and support-filled events in Los Angeles in 2024!


Our Leadership committee

(senior, mid and early career representation)

Carmen (Kika) Sucharov

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Ge Ying

Ying Ge

Professor of Cell and Regenerative Biology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Taben Hale

Associate Professor, Basic Medical Sciences and Clinical Translational Sciences, University of Arizona

Maria Kontaridis

Maria Kontaridis

Executive Director, Director of Research and Gordon K. Moe Professor and Chair Biomedical Research and Translational Medicine, Masonic Medical Research Institute.

Pilar Alcaide

Assistant Dean of Faculty Development, Kenneth and JoAnn G Wellner Professor and Associate Professor Immunology, Tufts University

Emma Louise Robinson

Postdoctoral fellow, Division of Cardiology, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Kathleen (KC) Woulfe

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Women’s Initiative Mentorship Program

Federica Accornerofederica.accornero@osumc.eduThe Ohio State University
Pilar Alcaidepilar.alcaide@tufts.eduTufts University
Joan Heller Brownjhbrown@ucsd.eduUniversity of California San Diego
Michael CzubrytMCzubryt@sbrc.caSt. Boniface Hospital
Jennifer Davisjendavis@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Federica del Montedelmonte@musc.eduThe Medical University of South Carolina
Ying Geying.ge@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
Christopher Glembotskicglembotski@arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Rebekah Gundryrebekah.gundry@unmc.eduUniversity of Nebraska Medical Center
Asa Gustafssonabgustafsson@health.ucsd.eduUniversity of California San Diego
Taben Haletabenh@arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Samantha Harrissamharris@arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Susan Howlettsusan.howlett@dal.caDalhousie University
Steven.P. JonesSteven.P.Jones@Louisville.eduUniversity of Louisville
Tim Kamptjk@medicine.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
Jonathan Kirkjkirk2@luc.eduLoyola University
Lorrie KirshenbaumLKirshenbaum@sbrc.caSt. Boniface Hospital Research Center
Richard Kitsisrichard.kitsis@einsteinmed.eduAlbert Einstein College of Medicine
Walter Kochwalter.koch@temple.eduTemple University
Maria Kontaridismkontaridis@mmri.eduMasonic Medical Research Institute
Aikaterini Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulosakontrogianni@som.umaryland.eduUniversity of Maryland
Evangelia (Litsa) G. Kraniaskraniaeg@ucmail.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati
Elizabeth McNallyelizabeth.mcnally@northwestern.eduNorthwestern University
Tish Elizabeth Murphymurphy1@nhlbi.nih.govNIH/NHLBI
Peipei Pingpping38@g.ucla.eduUCLA
Nicole Purcellnicole.purcell@hmri.orgHuntington Medical Research Institutes
Glen Pylegpyle@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
Michael Regniermregnier@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Stacey Rentschlerstacey.rentschler@wustl.eduWashington University in St. Louis
Sakthivel Sadayappansadayasl@ucmail.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati
Susmita Sahoosusmita.sahoo@mssm.eduIcahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 
Farah Sheikhfasheikh@ucsd.eduUniversity of California San Diego
R. John Solarosolarorj@uic.eduUniversity of Illinois Chicago
Kika Sucharovkika.sucharov@cuanschutz.eduUniversity of Colorado Anschutz
Michelle TallquistMichelle.tallquist@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Jil C Tardiffjtardiff@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Rong Tianrongtian@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Douglas TilleyDouglas.tilley@temple.eduTemple University
Hector Valdivahvaldivia@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
Jennifer Van EykJennifer.VanEyk@cshs.orgCedars-Sinai
Beata Wolskabwolska@uic.eduUniversity of Illinois Chicago
Joe Wujoewu@stanford.eduStanford University
Katherine YutzeyKatherine.Yutzey@cchmc.orgCincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Jianyi Zhangjayzhang@uab.eduThe University of Alabama at Birmingham